Cultural Triangle - Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka's and Asia's richest archaeological heritage sites and the largest and most dramatic are in the Cultural Triangle. The area formed by linking the ancient capitals of Anuradhapura, Polonnaruva, and Kandy, with Sigiriya in the center.

The special sites of the Cultural Triangle are Jethwana and Abhayagiri monastery complex at Anuradhapura, the Alahana Pirivena monastic university and the royal city and palace and Polonnaruwa, the city, palace and gardens at Sigiriya and the painted cave temple at Dambulla.

They have been conserved and presented under the UNESCO- Sri Lanka Cultural Triangle Project. A Round Trip ticket costs US$ 32.50 Tickets can be purchased from travel agents, or the Tourist Board, or Cultural Fund Office, 212/1, Bauddaloka Mawatha, Colombo 7. or at any one of the 5 sites


A one or two-day trip to Kandy, Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa, or Anuradhapura is also possible, if your stay is a short one. Traveling time from Colombo to the ancient cities is as follows:

Kandy   Anuradhapura   Polonnaurwa
Dambulla   Sigiriya    

Make sure you see the new museums at the Abayagiri monastery at Anuradhapura, the Treasure House of the Jethawana monastery, and the new visitor center and museum at Polonnaruwa. The Archaeological Museum at Anuradhapura is one of the oldest museum in the Cultural Triangle area